People Places Exchanges- McColl Opening

McColl Center Opening February 5, 2016

I went to the McColl opening of the People Places Exchanges: Art as a Visual Voice exhibition. There were a lot of people at the gallery opening when I went, so it was pretty crowded, especially around the food. I thought that the oil paintings of Vincente Hernandez were really beautiful, especially the one related to Charlotte. There were many awesome works displayed but the crowd made it hard to look at for long, so I made it my mission to go look upstairs at the studios.

One of the artists that I found interesting was Ivan Toth Depena. He was in a studio upstairs and he had these three large mixed media series that I really enjoyed. They were made up of abstracted lines with large block of color on the bottom quarter of the panels.

I went to Hollis’ studio and saw the works from presentation on the first day of class. I really liked the large scale and spatial dimensions that the work has. As someone who likes narrative works, the large comic strip was definitely one of my favorites.

Post by: Rebecca Lempereur

Leave a Reply

