McColl Center Visit

My visit to the McColl Center was definitely a different experience than I expected it to be. This was my first visit there so I was excited to see the venue, which was beautiful on the inside and out. However, I was not a fan of how crowded it was. Once my husband and I fought through the crowd and found our way up the stair, it seemed to get much less crowded. This was where I really enjoyed looking at the different styles of art.

I really enjoyed the artist who did woodwork and created really interesting portraits. I also enjoyed being able to see Hollis’ work in person. One of the things I appreciated most was the amount of detail that went into each drawing. I think my favorite piece was the large grid of small drawings documenting natural disasters. I really love intensely detailed pen work, and these drawings definitely satisfied my need for cross-hatching.

Oh, and on a side note, the food was delicious, which is always a plus for me.

Leave a Reply

