The McColl Center

The opening:

The opening for the McColl center was very exciting. I loved Hollis’s work, and there were many other cool artists there.

One of them used a computer software to make random carvings on his paintings, which I found to be a stunning product. Looking at these works gave me an instant feeling of calmness, they moved me. I especially liked the cool colored pieces and the random strokes that were more long and ribbon like.

There was another artist who made large format carvings in wow which were held together by string. Steven is also working with currency as a subject, which I found very beautiful. I can’t wait to see the end result.

Upstairs there was a performance artist who was doing very interesting work with dance and theater elements.

All in all the work was phenomenal and I can’t wait to see the progress.

The open studio:

The open studio was very interesting. I had no idea what to expect, but it seemed to be fairly busy. People asked lots of questions that I would have never expected them to ask. It seemed like a very fun and engaging way for everyday people to have a met and greet with hard working artists.

Leave a Reply

